Week 1

ImageI have always considered myself a big picture person. You know – Grand plans, shooting long-term, taking a step back and assessing the overall idea. I absolutely despise working with details because they stress me out. BUT everyday, I am proven wrong by my own decisions and actions.

When it comes to Olympic Weightlifting, things are more intuitive for me. With a couple years of practicing under my belt, I understand how my mind and body work through the pressure and loads. I learn something new and different about myself each time I train. Through this learning, my level of comprehension has evolved to where I am now able and confident enough to teach the techniques of these “complex” lifts. In which, I learn even more. I can break down the snatch or the clean & jerk into progressions to correct my own technique and help other people understand it better.

On the other hand, designing makes me freak the fuck out and I hit a mental block. As “creative” as most people think I am, there is a ridiculous amount of psychological angst behind it. I finally came to the realization that I have yet spent a fraction of the time and effort it takes to be slightly good. The novelty of learning a new skill to our brains needs time to build familiarity and consistency to reinforce the actions. Often times, we begin a new task or skill with the notion that we’re going to be a natural or an overnight success. Yes, we’re going to step to the plate with some strengths and qualities because we’ve trained our minds to think and function in similar situations, but we also need to acknowledge the things we don’t know. And the things we don’t know that we don’t know. 

Well, damn. This takes me back to my undergrad days…revelation upon revelations.

Anyways, let’s see what I can unravel in Week 2.

One thought on “Week 1

  1. Looking forward to reading your thoughts Dorothy — like lifting heavy weights creative endeavors become stronger with regular workouts. And I think Oly training has prepared you in some ways for those tougher moments of creative work — throwing on weights outside your comfort zone, that fear-excitement just before the pull, the disappointment when you bail the first five times, and then moment it all comes together. Yeah…transferable skills. You got this.

Leave a comment